Are sorters required to load?

ClassicFumbles

It was always Fumbles..
I have been with UPS for 2 years now. I consider myself to be a good employee. I always come to work with a good attitude and work ethic. I worked as a package handler for a while, stayed in one area in the outbounds the whole time. Very seldom on a crappy night, we’d have to go help out another area of the outbounds. Not a big deal.

I have since moved upstairs to main sort. Got my dollar raise and became a sorter. My job title on upsers is now “Sorter”
To any logical person, that means my job is now “Sorting”

I have been a sorter at main sort for our building for about 4 months. My area has had a different PT supervisor for about a month now. The previous PT supervisor was the guy who suggested I move up top. Recently, I have noticed a few things that don’t seem fair. I feel I am being taken advantage of while others slack off.

1. I am told I have to run a belt by myself either all night, or until the guys who are habitually 30-45min late show up. Keep in mind this is a two man job. It’s a two man belt. We run 4 belts up top, 2 men per belt. But not me. I am made to run one by myself. I tear up my back with stretching over the belt to grab packages while everyone else is happily sorting away with their partner.

2. After I complete my job each night, I am then told I have to go downstairs to the outbounds to help out. So not only do I have to do a two man job by myself, I then have to do a third job and pick up after a bunch of idiots who can’t seem to hit 350 pieces per hour and keep their area clean. Once again, just me. Not the other guys I sort with, not the guys in the unload, not the guys in the bullfrog, just me. Everyone gets to go home when they complete the work in their area, except me.