Feeders Mountain driving?

brown67

Just finished my 1st week of feeder school. On the 4th day we drove up I-70 to the Eisenhower tunnel. Instructor drove up and I got to drive back to Denver down I-70. 6% grade for 6 miles or so. UPS teaches us to gear down and to ride the brake very lightly on the way down. I guess they don't like us to stab brakes, because they get hot and when you let up on the hot brakes the oxygen gets in and can start a brake fire. FYI no jake brake either. Instructor did it on the way up and we stopped and got out to smell the brakes and they were fine. I did it coming down and did get them a little hot and smelled a little too, but didn't smoke them. My instructor just told me to be a little lighter on the brakes. Do all of you feeder drivers do this? Just goes against everything I thought I knew abut braking, but I'm a newbie and don't know much.

Interested in feeder school? Day 4. Mountain driving. Never driven in my life. They do push you hard in school. Almost quit on Wed. Hardest thing I've done. So much is tossed at you so fast. Did go back on Thursday (mountain driving day) and things started coming together. After running the mountains and coming back into Denver at rush hour, I really got a confidence boost. Still lots to learn, but now I feel I'm starting to catch on.

rod

Retired 22 years
I'm surprised they teach you to ride your brakes--even if it is very lightly. That goes against everything I have ever heard

blaeux35

i drive feeders in texas. flatland thank goodness:happy2:. i can't imagine driving a set of doubles through the mountains on dry pavement, let alone snow or rain:whiteflag:. good luck to you

NNJDriver

Agree with you when i was taught to drive truck was always told not to ride the brakes. ridding the brakes to long they heat up glaze over and then your screwed when you need them most.

Covemastah

Hoopah drives the boat Chief !!