Question about chances of getting in at UPS

northeast swing driver

Wondering if any of you guys can give me insight on possibility of getting my foot in the door at my local UPS station. I have been told so many different things on the road by UPS drivers. Some UPS guys I talk to on the road tell me I could get in. And then some say no shot. I am a 9 year swing driver at FEDEX and am dying to get out and get in at UPS. For one reason. The pay. That's it. Before you guys tell me you don't know what you're getting in to. Trust me I do. What's the best avenue to try to achieve this. Should I try to get an interview for another position and then explain my situation and experience then. Or should I try to walk in to the station and fill out an application there. I know all the routes in the area from being a swing at FEDEX. Does that improve my chances at all or does that get me nowhere? I can't be a loader. That's not an option. I can't leave FT driving and my seniority behind to load trucks for 5 years. It's just not an option. Any input is appreciated if some of you guys could let me know what my chances would be and the best avenue to achieve this.

nicky

Because we are a union you will have to start like everyone else. Working in the building, paying your dues, until you gain enough seniority to bid into a driving position. And just so you know I have been a cover driver for more than 5 years waiting on a full time position

jalnar

You better wake up and smell the roses. UPS would much rather have a rookie so they can mould them into their brain wash ideas. From the sound of your question your attitude is not what UPS would be looking for. All qualified Christmas help will be given first choice which would probably cover most of the year. There is a 6 1 1 formula which must be followed For ever 8 drivers 6 part time one transfer and one outside hire. So until a center hires 8 drivers you will not get in.And yes the pay and benefits and retirement are good