Question: Is now a good time to buy a FedEx Ground Route?

cahammo

I am a newbie, both to this board, and potentially to this profession. I have the opportunity to purchase a FedEx Ground Route in town with a population of 30K. The price on it is $75K. The current contractor uses two trucks and two drivers (the contractor is not one of the drivers).

I know there are lots of legal battles going on at FedEx trying to decide if the ground contractors and drivers will eventually become employees or not. Will someone break this down for me. I would assume it would be advantageous for me to be an employee rather than a contractor, but how long is this expected to drag on in the courts?

Bottom line... based on the sketchy info I have provided, is this route a buy or a pass? Thanks in advance.

Testicular Fortitude

I am a newbie, both to this board, and potentially to this profession. I have the opportunity to purchase a FedEx Ground Route in town with a population of 30K. The price on it is $75K. The current contractor uses two trucks and two drivers (the contractor is not one of the drivers).

I know there are lots of legal battles going on at FedEx trying to decide if the ground contractors and drivers will eventually become employees or not. Will someone break this down for me. I would assume it would be advantageous for me to be an employee rather than a contractor, but how long is this expected to drag on in the courts?

Bottom line... based on the sketchy info I have provided, is this route a buy or a pass? Thanks in advance.