Which path to take?

Maple7

So all of this is kind of overwhelming but maybe you guys can shed some light on it for me. I have been a seasonal driver for almost a month now and really want to make UPS my career I just know its hard to get on FT ....especially off the street. I graduated college a few years ago and have two good years driving at Fedex. Management told me that they have a handful of seasonal drivers and are gonna have to hire one FT after peak. Of course I'm going out there and trying to safely bust my ***** every day. Recently the manager told my if I keep it up he will make good things happen.

Since then I have continued to give it my all so he again approached me and said he wants me as a on-road supervisor for the start of 2012. I appreciate his vote of confidence but don't really get why. I'm only 26 and have like 20 days on the job. I know damn well that there are plenty of people in that big hub that also have degrees and a great work ethic. So why me? I was never good in school but got by, mediocre public speaker and don't have the best UPS knowledge in the world so whats in this for him? I know right from wrong and have a tremendous work ethic and a good head on my shoulders but that's it, nothing fancy and no track record inside the company.

If it was up to me I would like to drive for awhile first. Get better area knowledge and knowledge of the company as well. It also sounds like its easier going from driver to supervisor then the other way around. Plus I enjoy driving, its challenging but fun.

So what do you make of this? Does he see me as a good employee and wants to get me on but maybe use that outside hire on another driver? Is there something else going on? Also what does a on road sup make starting out?

Thanks for any insight and pointers:) I know you guys are the best source of knowledge and guidance around. Whatever happens I well be very honored to have any FT job at UPS.

Catatonic

Nine Lives