$1 per hour taken away from most Employees in Mcallen, TX PM local sort

commando223

I work down here at the UPS center in Mcallen, TX local sort scanning, picking off the belt and sometimes loading into trailers. I've been working here for almost four years and received an extra dollar per hour for scanning because they said it was a skilled position to know the sort and scan after 30 days. So they recently took away that extra dollar per hour telling us it was a mistake and we were being overpaid. They said we can try to fight it with the union but if we lose they will go back and take 90 days of pay from those who do.I Contacted the union here and they said there is nothing we can do, just wondering if any other upsers at other centers are experiencing anything like this or have any advice.
:dissapointed:

Scooter1

I have never heard of scanning being a skilled position. Sorting and picking off if it has more that 3 splits pays a dollar extra. All the loaders in my area scan packages.

JonFrum

When you say you scan, do you mean you are a SPA scan-print-apply labelslapper, or a do you scan while loading a trailer?

Strictly speaking there are no "skilled" or "unskilled" positions at UPS. Those words are not in the Contract. Article 22 says if you are a "Preloader" or "Sorter" you get the extra dollar; "All Others" don't. It's up to each location to define how many jobs fall under the definition of Preloader and Sorter.

Also, some locations pay the extra dollar to additional people, and sometimes all people, if the location has a problem getting and keeping quality people.

Some managers may also pay additional people the extra dollar out of the kindness of their heart, or because they feel guilty paying near minimum wages to people who only work 3.5 hours a day and don't get benefits for quite a while despite the expense of paying union dues and initiation fees.