1099 Contractor vs. LLC

KearsargeCoop

Baseball, dart board
Everyone here is an expert so I figured why not ask the crew so here it is -

My wife manages a 3 unit short term rental for a friend. He 1099's her, and myself as well as I do some general maintenance for him from time to time. My question is, would it be more advantageous for us to start an LLC or just remain contractors? We're talking under 15k a year total between both os us as of now.

Thoughts?

DriverNerd

You are only making 15k from one person a year... do you feel the need to protect yourself and your property from this person? I don't really see the advantage of going LLC unless you're going to have more employers, want to protect yourself from potential liabilities, and are making more money. Taxes must be super easy for you now with two 1099's and that low income.

FYI I'm no financial expert.

KearsargeCoop

Baseball, dart board
Doesn't seem worth to even do the job especially since you got to pay double social security and double Medicare tax on those earnings
Those are good points. This is the first year we are doing it, so I was thinking of how to go into 2024.
I'll look more into this.
You are only making 15k from one person a year... do you feel the need to protect yourself and your property from this person? I don't really see the advantage of going LLC unless you're going to have more employers, want to protect yourself from potential liabilities, and are making more money. Taxes must be super easy for you now with two 1099's and that low income.

FYI I'm no financial expert.
I was more thinking of funneling expenses through the LLC. Car maintenance, cell phone, internet. All those things we use for the act of "work".
Might not be worth it, but just doing my due diligence

Those are good points. This is the first year we are doing it, so I was thinking of how to go into 2024.
I'll look more into this.