50 year old female promoted to full time on road pkg Sup.?

W

want to retire

I thought this was pretty amazing. Shocking really. To clarify: I like this person and used to work with her when I was a pkg driver. We were talking the other day and I was shocked to find out she was promoted! She is white. As a 32 year employee(myself) who is way more qualified than this person(way, way more) who never understood how or why people were promoted( and yes, I might be a complete a-hole or not liked or have no personality.......)(but having known many, many Sups. at UPS who are the biggest a-holes I've EVER met).......and talking with other fellow employees with the same experiences..........why?

W

want to retire

Trust me she was demoted.

Well, I don't agree. I have ALWAYS, ALWAYS thought being in mgt. was the way to go.....sooner the better. Much, much more opportunity. My reasoning was that UPS sucks and you might as well ride a desk. And more money(potentially).

W

want to retire

LOL!!! I have had them chase me for years with the opportunity. I almost bit, once too.

And you! I've heard this all of my career also........"they keep asking me"........

In the end, I have to accept that I didn't have whatever it takes........and what might have been. But, All those years of experience and qualifications will help when the time comes to leave.

menotyou

bella amicizia
And you! I've heard this all of my career also........"they keep asking me"........

In the end, I have to accept that I didn't have whatever it takes........and what might have been. But, All those years of experience and qualifications will help when the time comes to leave.
I think the 'token' factor might weigh in here. You are a white hetero male, right?

W

want to retire

Well, sorry to say, but that's probably a big part of the problem. Yet, another reason I find UPS' decision to stop funding the Boy Scouts as a fat joke/big show.