Aspiring Package Car Driver seeking advice

gmn20

Hi there, this is my first time on BrownCafe, so I'm sorry if this post looks rough. I'm in my early 20's and I live and work for UPS in Illinois. Rumor has it that my facility will be having some package car opportunities heading into the holiday season, I really want to pursue a driving career with UPS especially the package car as I've always thought it would be a super rewarding and steady job. I had some questions and I figured the best way to understand things better was to go to the source, no not UPSers, the real source. Would a standard issue driver's license be enough to apply? or would I need a Class C license? or some sort of non-CDL identification to drive the package car? Also knowing or not knowing driving stick a deal breaker? I'm willing to learn whatever it takes to get the position, but I don't want to put my name down and be underprepared and waste such a great opportunity and maybe even have enough money to have a little family of my own someday. So I turn to the seasoned veterans for whatever wisdom you can spare to a young guy like me, anything I can get is greatly appreciated. Thank you.

542thruNthru