bumped out of EAMs

:mad: I am a college student finishiing my mastes degree . I have worked part time on the ramp at ups for the past 9 years , also for the past two years i have worked as an air exception driver(part time air driver) delivering EAMs in the morning. In the past to weeks my full time management has brought in full time ground package drivers to deliver EAMs and the are bumping me out of my EAMs work. I was allways told that eam work went first to fulltime combo air drvers then to part time air drivers then if no air drivers then fulltime ground drivers. In the past two weeks my suppervior is saying that the order is combo air drivers then full time ground then partime air drivers. this semes tto counterdict some of the language article 40. Is there anyone that can help me

over9five

Staff member
I don't know the language, but they have started to do that in my building.

Not sure why, except it would mean less drivers on-road. (Makes them look better on paper).

scratch

Least Best Moderator
Staff member
I am a full-time package driver that bid on an EAM route last spring and got it. It was the first time I had seen a bid on it, my supervisor that posted it is a "by the book type" (UPS and IBT Contract). We have always used high seniority FTers, with the exception of pulling somebody off the Preload if stops are too heavy certain days. Its not long days either, I start at 6:30, deliver EAM till 8AM, then start my regular route at 8:40. The great part is I hit OT at 3:30, and have to clock out at 5PM to keep from going over nine-five. This means my regular route had two hours work taken off it. Usually I pull in my own driveway from 5:30 to 6PM, I wish I had started this years ago, maybe I could have seen my two sons grow up!

Overpaid Union Thug