Can EAM drivers file 9.5 papers to keep hours down?

scottneedsthis

I'm a 28 year veteran full time driver and start at 6:45 AM doing EAM delivers. (This is a bid position) I have been told I can't file 9.5 papers to keep my hours down by UPS managers. My local union Business Agent told me the same thing!!!!, but I haven't read anything in the contract that says EAM driver's like me are exempt from filing 9.5. So I end up working 10.5-12.5 hour days because I have a UPS store that can't be closed out until 6PM or later so my stop count is kept high because supervisor wants me "working" with no dead time. (I contacted a union rep from back east in New York area that said I can file 9.5. I am waiting for his response on how to do this without the support of my local Business Agent) Does anyone have any experience with this matter? Has anyone, anywhere tried to file 9.5 papers doing this "extra" work or anything else that is a bid job that starts them earlier than regular start time and what happened with you? Do I have any recourse using the contract? (Even if I do, how do I handle my local BA not supporting my claim?)

UPSGUY72

Some routes are scheduled more that 9.5 hours. When you bid the route what was the time listed next to the route. If the times changed then you might have a case.

However saying that it might be just easier to bid another route if you want to get out early. A 22.3 job should get you your 8 hr and no more as you want.

scottneedsthis

Why should I think about it? Please tell me what you think. After 28 years of driving, I've seen it all. Other drivers file 9.5 and they are relieved of work without any problems from management. I've only filed 2 grievances in 28 years. I'm not a problem driver. I make there numbers.

BigUnionGuy

Got the T-Shirt
If you are relying on the 9.5 language in Article 37 of the master....

You're out of luck. Reason being.... you bid the route.