Does this sound right?

Almal5831

I am a qualified PT Cover Driver, with only 6 months seniority. My center has about 55 trips on average (non-peak) a day. The past 3 1/2 weeks I have only been utilized as a driver helper. When I addressed my concern today about not driving on my usual split with the driver supervisor, especially during peak his response was,"Peak is next week. Have to work cover drivers as helpers till we can put the routes on...No routes on yet. Be patient it will soon be time this helper crap slows down for about a week". One main reason I am concerned is I make $5.25 less an hour to do the same work as a helper, minus turning the steering wheel & did UPS hire too many new drivers to fulfill non peak volumes i.e.(screwed for work after peak)?

bleedinbrown58

That’s Craptacular
I am a qualified PT Cover Driver, with only 6 months seniority. My center has about 55 trips on average (non-peak) a day. The past 3 1/2 weeks I have only been utilized as a driver helper. When I addressed my concern today about not driving on my usual split with the driver supervisor, especially during peak his response was,"Peak is next week. Have to work cover drivers as helpers till we can put the routes on...No routes on yet. Be patient it will soon be time this helper crap slows down for about a week". One main reason I am concerned is I make $5.25 less an hour to do the same work as a helper, minus turning the steering wheel & did UPS hire too many new drivers to fulfill non peak volumes i.e.(screwed for work after peak)?
Why aren't you getting your regular pay rate....that doesn't sound right.

upschuck

Don't know about PT drivers since we don't have them, whenever a driver jumps, they get their driver rate.

As far as not having the runs, that is normal. It may cost a little more now, but putting on routes before they are actually need, would probably save money in the long run.

BrownTexas

1. Talk to you steward about it.