Driving vs. Management. Don't know what to do.

Jonas

Well I've been working at UPS for 5 years, loading mainly. I didn't expect to be here this long so I never really gave much thought to my career path. Well now I'm looking towards some kind of advancement but I'm discovering I really don't know much about it. I could easily go ahead get a part-time supervisor job but I thinking maybe it would be smarter to look into driving, since I've already put in 5 years, I don't think I'd have to wait much longer. Thing is, I'm not sure If I'd enjoy driving or not, it would certainly require more of my time. Can someone please tell me what I can expect as far as pay and benefits for pt supervisor vs. driver? Don't drivers make a lot more? Also, if I do decide to take a management position, does that mean I can't ever change my mind and be a driver? or vice versa? Any thoughts/opinions would be much appreciated.

steward71

Well I've been working at UPS for 5 years, loading mainly. I didn't expect to be here this long so I never really gave much thought to my career path. Well now I'm looking towards some kind of advancement but I'm discovering I really don't know much about it. I could easily go ahead get a part-time supervisor job but I thinking maybe it would be smarter to look into driving, since I've already put in 5 years, I don't think I'd have to wait much longer. Thing is, I'm not sure If I'd enjoy driving or not, it would certainly require more of my time. Can someone please tell me what I can expect as far as pay and benefits for pt supervisor vs. driver? Don't drivers make a lot more? Also, if I do decide to take a management position, does that mean I can't ever change my mind and be a driver? or vice versa? Any thoughts/opinions would be much appreciated.[/QUOT

refer to the post self inflicted injuries. this could happen to you if you go into management.

40 and out