Getting transferred to a different hub unwillingly

Number-Nine

Im a trainee trying to make book for the 2nd time. I have about 25 days in. Today I received a call from my supe and was told that they are going to send me off to a different hub to make book and permanently work there after. Said hub is 40 minutes away ( with no traffic) compared to my 15 minute commute now.

I've been in my hub for 5 years and applied to be a driver there. I assume my options are to either disqualify myself or suck it up and make my book. Are these my only real options and Has this happened to anyone else? I find it bizarre.

Last edited:

CoolStoryBro

Talk to stewart. You aren't clear about what is happening.
Are you failing your second attempt at driving?
The other hub probably really sucks if they are taking people from elsewhere. Probably don't have enough drivers. I'd be cautious about moving to a new area.

Box Ox

Im a trainee trying to make book for the 2nd time. I have about 25 days in. Today I received a call from my supe and was told that they are going to send me off to a different hub to make book and permanently work there after. Said hub is 40 minutes away ( with no traffic) compared to my 15 minute commute now.

I've been in my hub for 5 years and applied to be a driver there. I assume my options are to either disqualify myself or suck it up and make my book. Are these my only real options and Has this happened to anyone else? I find it bizarre.

It’s always been my understanding that you can’t be pulled off one route and put onto another mid-qualification. Which is what a transfer would do.

And transferring you based on your anticipated future FT driver status sounds bizarre. I wouldn’t think you’d be fully reclassified as FT until you’ve actually made book.

Now if you’d already officially made book and then they ask the FT driver ranks for volunteers and then pull from the bottom up, that might be legit. But this sounds like a steward/BA issue.