No new 22.2 jobs created in this contract!

Discussion in 'UPS Union Issues' started by Ilovetoast, Sep 20, 2018.

1. Ilovetoast

Ilovetoast Member

Union Rep explained to me there will be no new 22.2 inside/inside jobs created in this contract!

I’m in shock, I have been waiting 15 years and for the looks of it I’ll be Waiting a lot longer.

Does anyone know if you’re allowed to bid on a 22.2 job when your a 22.3.
    Or are you stuck working weekends for the rest of your life?
    I asked my local Union rep and he said he’ll get back to me...He never did

My dream is to get off the road and out of this package car. I’m a Air driver working full time hours.

2. UnconTROLLed

UnconTROLLed perfection

are you talking about inside/inside 22.3? Because the 22.2 jobs are top driver rate grandfathered jobs, they don't create any more of those in our area. Yes we can bid them, here, along with feeders.

• Agree Agree x 1
    • Winner Winner x 1
    • List
  3. DELACROIX

DELACROIX In the Spirit of Honore' Daumier

In reality there has been no new 22.2's position created over the last 30 years at least in my Local. They are only bid once there is a vacancy and bid within the classification first and if no one in a 22.2 position wants it then it goes by overall seniority in any classification.

The number of 22.2's were guaranteed from replacement ..I really do not how that previous language is being interpreted currently with the recent contract.

4. BigUnionGuy

BigUnionGuy Got the T-Shirt

I know of some 22.2 jobs created in Locals to assist in fueling the new CNG tractors.

They didn't want to make them 22.3 combos, so they were bid as 22.2.

Absolutely correct.

Nothing has changed.

-Bug-

• Agree Agree x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
    • List
  5. DirtySouth

DirtySouth Active Member

They are not required to create any additional 22.3 jobs (or even 22.2 jobs) under the TA as they've been required to do over the last 4 contracts.