No Work For Driver Helpers???

Today is my first day with a brown uniform in my closet. Got up, put on crisp uniform and called in for pick up location. Was told no work, no ride nada. How often does this happen? My Unemployment office was notified that I had taken a job. That stops unemployment. Yesterday during orientation HR made it sound like "BE READY." So, what's the real scoop? Is it because I am a newbie or is it too early in the season to expect work every day? Would have been nice if HR let us know. I just lost my 275.00 per wk unemployment.

Thanks for your responses! Corn-fused?!?!?!?:dissapointed:

J

jibbs

Oh man! It's typical, to be honest... I'm sorry you're going to lose your unemployment benefits for a job that doesn't guarantee work every day.

As we get closer to Christmas it will become more likely that you'll have work every day (especially if you end up being a decent helper). Right now your hub/center's probably at the point where they've overhired for peak in anticipation of high turnover that hasn't happened-- yet.

I feel like it would almost be criminal to take unemployment from somebody employed but not utilized through no fault of their own.

Thanks Jibbs. I am a patient kinda guy so I will go with the flow. Have been a regional manager for a HUGE company prior to coming here and I guess I miss being in the mix every waking moment. But at the same time I am a real team player that is just looking to work for a solid company. No company is perfect. Really looking forward to pairing up with a good driver and learning the ropes.

Thanks for your reply!

Pedal Junkie

bleedinbrown58

That’s Craptacular
Man....that sucks. What HR doesn't tell you is they usually hire many more helpers than they actually need....I've heard a lot of complaints over the years of helpers returning their uniforms after peak that never even were called to work a day.

oldngray

nowhere special