Part Timer Overtime Pay Classification

bakagigee

I am a part time preloader and I am also a part time air driver, meaning I do Saturday deliveries, and deliver for a few hours a few days a week when they need me to run air packages.

So here's my question, if I work 4 hours as a preloader and then go out and work 5 hours as an air driver, how should I get paid?

I always thought, and payroll has been doing it like this...
4hrs Preload Rate
4hrs Air rate
1hr Overtime Air rate

However, my district manager told me the other day that since my air classification is different from my preloader classification, that I get paid overtime if I work over 5hrs on preload, but then I would have to work over 8 hours of air driving to get overtime for that. So according to him it would look like this...
4hrs Preload Rate
5hrs Air Rate
0hrs Overtime

Under this scenario I could work 13 hours a day and not get paid a dime of overtime. 5 hours on preload and then 8 hours driving air. That doesn't seem right. What say you?

PT Car Washer

I am a part time preloader and I am also a part time air driver, meaning I do Saturday deliveries, and deliver for a few hours a few days a week when they need me to run air packages.

So here's my question, if I work 4 hours as a preloader and then go out and work 5 hours as an air driver, how should I get paid?

4hrs Preload Rate
4hrs Air rate
1hr Overtime Air rate

However, my district manager told me the other day that since my air classification is different from my preloader classification, that I get paid overtime if I work over 5hrs on preload, but then I would have to work over 8 hours of air driving to get overtime for that. So according to him it would look like this...
4hrs Preload Rate
5hrs Air Rate
0hrs Overtime

Under this scenario I could work 13 hours a day and not get paid a dime of overtime. 5 hours on preload and then 8 hours driving air. That doesn't seem right. What say you?