Question about our 401k options....

A

Anon1

Im a full time driver and would love to be able to transfer my money to a Roth IRA. I know all the steps involved but Im curious as to if anybody has actually done it before?

401k--to--Rollover IRA
Rollover IRA--to--Rollover Roth IRA (paying taxes in the meantime)

Paul,

No one has addressed why rolling the whole thing over (if possible) is a bad idea. It is the taxes you have to pay--not talking about any penalty. Here is a chart for 2007:

Filing Status and Income Tax Rates 2007
Tax rate Married filing jointly
or Qualified Widow(er) Single Head of household Married filing separately
10% $0 - 15,650 $0 - 7,825 $0 - $11,200 $0 - 7,825
15% $15,651- 63,700 $7,826- 31,850 $11,201- 42,650 $7,826- 31,850
25% $63,701- 128,500 $31,851- 77,100 $42,651- 110,100 $31,851- 64,250
28% $128,501- 195,850 $77,101- 160,850 $110,101- 178,350 $64,251- 97,925
33% $195,851- 349,700 $160,851- 349,700 $178,351- 349,700 $97,926- 174,850
35% over $349,700 over $349,700 over $349,700 over $174,850

See the tax rates on the left. You could easily go from the 25%-28% to the 33%-35% bracket. Not only that, but you would have to pay state taxes on this money also and can you say alternative minimum tax? You could easily wipe out 40% of your savings depending on your circumstances. Better to do it any deferred plan a little at a time to avoid hitting the next tax bracket. Just my two cents.

browniehound

An important aspect of the 401k program that most people are not aware of is that with the 401k when you retire at age 55 you can start withdrawals without penalties. If you role the funds over into a ira you are stuck with the 59 1/2 rule. With many of us retiring early, this early cash flow can be important to supplement our standard of living.

PackageStud, (LOL)