question about paid over/under time, plus a few other ??

sorefeet

I'm a casual seasonal driver, I drove last peak & was called back to fill in this summer. The route I'm doing now is a regular route that the normal driver bid off of & I was told I would run this route the rest of the summer. The route averages 120-160 stops a day & on the light days I have no problems getting back to the building around 6-7 but anything over 150 & I'm either calling in the center to get an air meet or sweating bullets rushing my last 30 stops so I will make the air door @ 7:30.

On Friday when I looked at my planned day in the computer I was dispatched for 148 stops with the computer estimating my last stop @ 5:17!!

Friday was a disaster, it seemed every business I delivered to had 4 times the volume as normal, I couldn't walk through the package car until past 2. I was missing many of my bulk stops packages causing me to lose even more time looking for packages that were not in the truck.

I was instructed to meet another driver & pick up the misloads on his vehicle that was 2 towns away ( 20 min drive each way ) then I had to deliver those which was in an area I had already finished with.

I have 2 apartment buildings on my route that get between 5-15 packages a day, I need to get buzzed into & DR them to the individual residents doors, I only get credit for 1 stop & the computer estimates it takes 2 min to complete this stop. That is insane, I'm in those building for at least 20 min on the heavier days.

Long story short I didn't get back to the building until 8:15 ( supposedly 3 hours over paid )

I've talked to a receiver on my route who told me that this route has had like 15 different drivers in the 20 years he was worked there & they all moved on to a different route asap.

I'm obviously trying to make a good impression on management but I feel like the time allowances has me set up to fail.( I would never scratch that route )

BrownTexas