Safety or lack of it, should I be concerned?

gingerkat

This is my first time as a helper and I love it - so far. Today is day 3 and all of my safety training is gone. Actually day one, I was breaking all of the rules. If I told you what I was doing, you probably would shake your head. He was sort of encouraging it so he could get home before it was too late. I'm not complaining, but I'm a little worried as it's just going to get busier and I'm afraid of making some serious mistakes.

Today he had about 200 stops both business & residential and I met him at 10:00 and we finished before 5:00. I'm sheeting all my own stops now and even closed out 5 of his pick ups today, so I think I'm doing okay.

Should I say something? I already said something the first day, but he said that "nobody really pays attention and to just be careful". Just wanted a little advice.

brownmonster

Man of Great Wisdom
Buckle up, use the hand rail and stay up right. The fact that you are sheeting on your own is huge. Sounds like you are with a runner gunner. You were supposed to be my helper by the way. Dammit!

gingerkat

I asked him to wait, belt was stuck, but he kept on rolling.
Walking with packages in hand down steps, given by him, so I couldn't use rail (not small one's either)
Walking backwards with packages down stairs
Jogging, even though I walk really really fast
Crossing in front of package car
Boxes taller than my head, walking up a huge flight of steps

I did initially say something about most of these things, but I'm his helper, so I just listen. I'm just trying to help him and do whatever he needs. I think he normally gets home before 5:00, but he gets an additional route at the holidays. He did tell me that I was the fastest helper he's had in about 20 years, so I guess that is a good thing?

edit: He is really great to work with. We have a lot of fun banter that makes our day move, but I don't want to get in trouble if a sup rolls up on us.

nmang2412