DOT 10 Hours Off Rule Explained please?

brownstreak86

I'm a cover driver, not working more than a couple days a week right now. I recently started a janitor job at my wife's work. I'm trying to understand the DOT 10 hours off rule a little better. If I clean from 6 AM to 8:30 AM, am I not allowed to hop on a truck and drive starting at 9:15 AM due to the 10 hours off rule? Does this rule only apply to driving jobs, or do I need 10 hours off from cleaning before I can drive?

hondo

promoted to mediocrity
I'm a cover driver, not working more than a couple days a week right now. I recently started a janitor job at my wife's work. I'm trying to understand the DOT 10 hours off rule a little better. If I clean from 6 AM to 8:30 AM, am I not allowed to hop on a truck and drive starting at 9:15 AM due to the 10 hours off rule? Does this rule only apply to driving jobs, or do I need 10 hours off from cleaning before I can drive?
If you didn't work from 8 PM until 6 AM, you had 10 hours off duty time, satisfying DOT reqs. At 6 AM when you start the cleaning job, your 14 hour on duty time starts, meaning you cannot drive the company truck (on the public roads) after 8 PM.

jbg77

From what I remember in class it only pertains if your other job is a driving job. I asked that specifically. Industrial equipment ex. Tractors, excavators, etc doesn't apply either.

hondo

promoted to mediocrity
From what I remember in class it only pertains if your other job is a driving job. I asked that specifically. Industrial equipment ex. Tractors, excavators, etc doesn't apply either.
The only way any other job doesn't count towards DOT Hours of Service, is volunteer/charity work-unpaid.

PrimeUPS