Info on a temp position

Discussion in 'UPS Discussions' started by jorgeone33, Jun 22, 2015.

1. jorgeone33

jorgeone33 New Member

Hey guys . I'm currently a deer park spring water route sales rep I've been working here for 6 years I started at 15.32 an hour and now I'm at 18.75 . Before this I worked for fed ex ground under my father who owns multiple routes . While working for deer park I've been delivering to the hub at the Philadelphia air port and the lady who works the interviews has told me she can get me in as a temp driver at 18.75 an hour with the chance they keep me . My questions . I'm torn weather or not to take the leap and attempt it being a father and a homeowner but I know he risk is worth the reward . Any insight you guys could give me that would be great thanks .

2. Richard Harrow

Richard Harrow Deplorable.

Do not do it. You have a mortgage and kid(s). Temporary is just that - temporary. Especially at UPS.

Good luck.

3. jorgeone33

jorgeone33 New Member

Even with the , "chance of being kept" and knowing two ppl within ?

• Optimistic Optimistic x 3
    • List
  4. Richard Harrow

If you're willing to stake your mortgage and your children's lifestyle on it, then go for it.

From what you've told us, you and I are very similar in terms of family life and financial commitments. Myself personally in my position, I only deal in guarantees - not "chances".

5. Austin.Was.My.Hero

Austin.Was.My.Hero quod erat demonstrandum

You'll still be lowest on the totem pole which means whenever somebody is not needed that day, it'll be you.

6. jorgeone33

jorgeone33 New Member

How long would you say I had to work on the docks before I can go full time driving ?

7. Austin.Was.My.Hero

All about seniority. How large is the hub? If smaller, it could be years.

I would not quit the sales rep job to go to ups since it's only equal pay. I doubt you're union as a sales rep, so that would be an additional expense.