Orion and an 8 hour request

undies

I have an 8 hour request and running Orion at 100%. I'm going to need help.

Has anyone else had this problem?

undies

It's my first time actually attempting to use Orion, it's slowing me down. That's the problem. Probably not the best day to give it a whirl on this route...

AKCoverMan

Who cares. If you are approved and work over 8 (it was 8.5 here), file for penalty pay.
True enough but the penalty pay usually doesn't make up for missing whatever plans you have that evening which is he reason for the 8hr request in the first place.

I mean with all the 10+ hr days we put in its not too much to ask that two days a month I can plan to be somewhere by 1800.

My last center manager.. one day I had and 8 hour set up and I get a dispatch that's easily a 10 hour day. Went to center manager and said I'll need help today for my 8. He said "I don't care. File your grievance you'll get paid." Was so pissed that I turned in two 8s the next month on days I didn't need just to rack up grievances on this guy.

Thank god he left us and is running a Freight terminal now. Present center manager works to get me to what I am trying to get to for my 8s. I realize it's a pain sometimes because I am a cover and they might not know what route I am on till an hour before PCM. But he makes the effort. "I don't care." What a piece of work he was.

undies

My request was simply because it was the last day of the month. I ended up dropping 30 stops on a cover driver and still went over my 8 hour....time for a grievance.

rpoz11

True enough but the penalty pay usually doesn't make up for missing whatever plans you have that evening which is he reason for the 8hr request in the first place.

I mean with all the 10+ hr days we put in its not too much to ask that two days a month I can plan to be somewhere by 1800.