what if wife goes into labor?

johnny_hotdog

So me and my wife have a baby on the way and it got me thinking about what if she were to go into labor while I was at work? Since I am a cover driver I wont really know how far away I will be at the time and I obviously don't want to miss the birth. My thought is that when the time gets closer I will try to take routes that are closer to the hospital. Then if she were to go into labor I would just call a sup and say the truck will be in the parking lot, good luck ;) but I don't really know if there is any protocol for this or any contractual language. Anyone dealt with this before? What would you do in this situation?

joeboodog

good people drink good beer
Congratulations on the upcoming birth. Make sure you have all your FMLA paperwork in just in case. Make sure your management team is well aware of your situation especially when it gets closer to the due date. Try to schedule your vacations around the due date so you can spend time with the new addition.

silenze

Lunch is the best part of the day
Most people schedule a date to give birth. Either induce labor or c section.
Talk with your steward. Abandoning your truck might not fly with management

Z

ZQXC

So why do you think you need to be there for the birth. You were there for the conception; isn't that enough?

Give me just a minute to don my flameproof suit.

OK, ready.

Z

ZQXC

Are you also going to carry the kid around in on of those stomach slings until he/she is 4 years old?

DOK

I waited 2 weeks in the hospital with my wife thinking the baby was coming any day now, she had gone into labor early and was in a hospital an hour and half away from where we live. I ended up going home and back to work while she stayed down at the hospital, things looked stable and she was on bed rest. Well she ended up going into labor a few days later while I was on route. I just drove the truck back to the building and left, they were cool with that, missed the birth though.