A few questions. Salem, OR hub?

Hi,

Let me preface this by saying I've only worked at UPS for four months and don't really pay attention to :censored2: outside of moving heavy things and putting them in trucks.

Currently, I'm working preload at the Portland hub. I have a cheap living opportunity down by Salem, is anyone familiar with Salem and/or surrounding hubs (Abany, etc.)?

I hear negative things about the Portland hub, but I don't find it that bad. Are the aforementioned hubs any good?

I'd like to transfer near my living opportunity and use Earn and Learn to go to school down there. But I'm unfamiliar with how transfers work. I've read I lose seniority, but I'm not really sure what that practically means. Would I be pulling the :censored2:ty duties again? Would I "reset" my time until I'm a driver?

Again, no idea what I'm really talking about. Any light you could shed on transferring and Salem and the surrounding hubs would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

Brisket

First and foremost, change your username if that's your real name.

And just use the search box in the upper right corner, there's a treasure trove of info here, even though it will vary depending on your area .

UpstateNYUPSer(Ret)

Talk to HR.

They won't let you transfer but they may let you leave under good terms so that you reapply at Salem.

Were there no openings at Salem when you first applied?

Talk to HR.

They won't let you transfer but they may let you leave under good terms so that you reapply at Salem.

Were there no openings at Salem when you first applied?

I wasn't looking at Salem when I first applied, this new housing opportunity is a recent development. Doesn't actually look like Salem is hiring right now, but I wasn't sure if open positions might be different from transfer positions, which sounds dumb now that I've typed it out. Albany, a nearby town, is hiring for package handlers however...

Edit: nevermind just found a Salem opening on Monster

Last edited: