Aetna says they’re not STD, local says they are

I’m having surgery next week and I’m trying to apply for short term disability. My local says to call Aetna but they say to call teamcare. The local says teamcare is only for part timers. I’m a full time driver in New York City. Has anyone received short term disability as a full timer in NYC?

Future

Victory Ride
I’m having surgery next week and I’m trying to apply for short term disability. My local says to call Aetna but they say to call teamcare. The local says teamcare is only for part timers. I’m a full time driver in New York City. Has anyone received short term disability as a full timer in NYC?
Sorry ... about your surgery ...what r u having done?

UpstateNYUPSer(Ret)

I’m having total hip replacement. Pretty ridiculous to say that’s not disabling.

It's not----many have returned to work following the procedure; granted, none of them worked here, but to say it is disabling is not true.

The procedure would qualify you for STD.

I had a plantar wart removed in February 2016. The recovery time was a couple of weeks so I scheduled vacation for that time. I also applied for STD so, in essence, I made money on the deal.

This is who we use for STD coverage in my local:

https://www.ullico.com/lh/disability

I may schedule some vacation time during my recovery (I pick next week) but my local advised against it: “You’re on disability, not vacation”. UPS uses Aetna for STD here and they claim that UPS denied it. I’m hoping it’s because I haven’t had the surgery yet and to have better luck after the surgery as I will be “disabled” at that point.

Big Arrow Down...D

Leave the gun,take the cannoli
I’m having total hip replacement. Pretty ridiculous to say that’s not disabling.