Am I unrealistic? Package handler age 41 and badly out of shape?

Discussion in 'Introductions and Welcomes' started by PistolPete, Sep 17, 2018.

1. PistolPete

PistolPete New Member

I need your advice before I decide to apply. I worked as an unloader in Chicago area Hodgkins back in 2009 for two months before quitting. It wasn’t the physicality that I couldn’t handle — it was the pay. I’m not worried about that anymore, just whether I am too old and too fat now.

I’ve got the desire to tough it out but I was older than most ten years ago. Now I suspect I’m like a grandpa. And a fat one at that. I remember working with a really fat older guy who had a reputation for pissing himself. However he was no slouch unloading.

2. upschuck

upschuck Well-Known Member

2 months? You're on the do not hire list, so don't bother.

3. Why would you wanna go back?

4. PistolPete

PistolPete New Member

I got that overturned.

5. upschuck

When did you do that?

6. PistolPete

PistolPete New Member

I’m having major job search career trouble.

7. PistolPete

PistolPete New Member

Last Friday.

8. upschuck

How?

Then apply, and not worry what other people think if you are too old or not. They may even put you in an easier position.

9. PistolPete

PistolPete New Member

I wrote about five hundred words in an email to HR.

Thanks a lot man. I’m not quitting this time if I can get past day one.

10. burrheadd

burrheadd KING Of GIFS

You a felon?

11. PistolPete

PistolPete New Member