Bottom seniority driver wondering about after peak

OptimusPrime

Obviously volume drops way off, etc. Trying to budget ahead and all. Is there a minimum number of hours I am entitled to? I assume not. And if say I am only getting a day or two(or less) can I request hub work? And just for clarification I am a FT driver, without a route. We go by the name "swing driver" in these parts. I add this because it seems some threads break down into semantics about "cover" driver vs FT non route driver.

superballs63

Well-Known Troll
Troll
I suppose it all depends. The volume will usually stay pretty high for roughly 2 months after peak, with people using all their newly acquired gift cards and returns/exchanges. So, for the first few months after the new year you SHOULD be okay. But, if they don't need you as a driver, they might opt to lay you off from driving, but they are still required to give you your 40 hours if that is what you request. When that happened to me I split shifts to get my 40 hours......but that was a pain in the butt, so I stopped and just worked the preload for a bit.

UPSGUY72

Obviously volume drops way off, etc. Trying to budget ahead and all. Is there a minimum number of hours I am entitled to? I assume not. And if say I am only getting a day or two(or less) can I request hub work? And just for clarification I am a FT driver, without a route. We go by the name "swing driver" in these parts. I add this because it seems some threads break down into semantics about "cover" driver vs FT non route driver.

Read your local supplement specifically the section relating to seniority.