How to deliver large office buildings with suites? Question to drivers.

Hi everyone,

I'm a new driver currently on probation and the route I'm on has a lot of large office buildings that have 5 to 8 floors and small elevators. It appears that I can't load my hand truck too full unless I have some help getting it out once I reach my desired floor (help is usually unavailable). The problem is I have a lot of deliveries and I only have time for one trip in and out of these buildings because the route is heavily dependent on being at certain places at a specific time.

Also I need advice on how to load my hand truck? How should I do it? I find it impossible to remember all the suite numbers and how many units of work (uow) I have for that specific suite after I load my hand truck. I have had drivers that told me to prerecord at the car before entering the building and it appears like a good idea, but my supervisor doesn't want to see me scanning at the car.

Thank you for any advice.

Indecisi0n

Pre recording can get you in trouble esp when you are new (rushing) and don't know the route. Load the cart the way you want to deliver the building. Normally I deliver from top to bottom so I would load the hand cart like so: first floor on bottom, 2nd on top of that, 3rd on top of that etc. If you can't fully load the handcart up then make two trips. Trust me a lot of the times it's faster this way. It is possible to deliver just the first floor then come out and load the rest of the 7? First floor would be the fastest floor to get in, deliever , get out and reload cart.

nystripe96

Simply take a preload marker and mark the floor number on the side of each box facing outwards as you load it on the handtruck. Works for me, it'll work for you. Hope that helps

Sent using BrownCafe App

TooTechie

Geek in Brown