I got the call! Questions about going fulltime with no current contract

Ashell

I have been working in the hub for several years and I finally got the call for full time driver. Since the contract hasn't been ratified yet, I have some questions.

They told me full time driver starts at 16.10 (which is less than cover driver 17.00) but if I make more than 16.10 I stay in my current progression. I'm close to 16, and next august I would be over 16$/hr. Would I just make 16.10 till august and then make my progression rate? Am I locked into what ever new full time driver rate is?

Secondly, everyone keeps saying we are going to get retro on the raises once the contract passes. Would I forfeit that retro?

Any other things I should know about accepting fulltime with the state of the contract or even time of the year?

Finally, any tips? passing the driving test and things like that. I'm pretty vanilla looking and no problem with the pee test. I have heard some people get screwed over on little stuff driving.

baklava

I don’t work at UPS anymore.
They told me full time driver starts at 16.10 (which is less than cover driver 17.00) but if I make more than 16.10 I stay in my current progression. I'm close to 16, and next august I would be over 16$/hr. Would I just make 16.10 till august and then make my progression rate? Am I locked into what ever new full time driver rate is?

If your inside rate is higher than the starting wage for drivers, you would stay at your inside wage until your driving progression exceeds it. Since you said it's under $16 it is irrelevant anyway; you are beginning a new progression as a driver.

$16.10 is the pre-seniority rate under the last contract; since the new contract has not been ratified yet you will start at $16.10. Once you pass your probation you will begin making $17.25. Now here's the fun part;