Is it worth it to stay here as a package handler while working 2 jobs?

drazzy93

So, I've been working as a package handler for 4 months at this point. I work in small sorts which is definitely a lot better than normal package handling from what I can see, and I like my supervisors for the most part. However, I recently got offered a pretty good 9-5 job with better pay.

However, it's not as great as the pay UPS truck drivers make. So right now I'm just beginning to wonder if it's worth it to stay until my seniority finally begins to pay off? I'm just not sure if I can continue working both jobs, and I may have to make a decision. Maybe I should work here until my seniority pays off, and I can become a truck driver which would pay better than my second job? However, I have a coworker who has been working here for 3+ years still talking about becoming a truck driver which just sounds ridiculous to me.

That is just such a long wait that it sounds like more of an empty promise than anything to dangle over new hires. However, on the other hand I look around in my department, and I see a lot of old-timers. A lot of them have been there for years and years so I just can't help but think to myself "There must be something keeping them around." I'm relatively new, yes, but I already got my first raise which was a lot better than I expected. Considering the contract I received upon my hire I definitely see that UPS gives out pretty decent raises.

But the ridiculously low amount of hours and the empty promises just make me wonder why there are so many old-timers. Is it really worth it to stick it out and work both jobs? Is becoming a truck driver just an empty promise ultimately?

PT Car Washer