Package Handler

Stavemist316

Hi everyone,

I am a 19 year old college student and recently applied for a part time package handler job and right after was set up with an appointment for an interview/tour. I have looked on a lot of different sites and forums and most of them say that being a package handler really sucks.

I have been working at a Dairyqueen/OrangeJulius for 3 1/2 years in a mall. If you've ever worked fast food in a mall you know how much it sucks after a while and how it makes you hate people. That's why this job interests me because I don't mind getting dirty and working hard as long as I don't have to deal with customers. So I have a few questions and I thought the best place to get them answered was on a UPS forum.

What can I expect to start off at? I would be leaving my old job making 8.10/hr. When I applied for the package handler job it says 8.50-9.50/hr with 17 1/2 - 20 hours per week. How do they decide what wage to start you off at and can I get more than 20 hours per week?

What does a typical package handler day consist of?

Another reason I want to work at UPS is I would love to become an OTR trucker for the company someday. Truck driving is something that I've always wanted to do and that's what I see myself doing as a career. What is the average time on the wait list it takes to become a delivery driver? And how would I go about getting an OTR job with them?

Thanks for your time. :happy2:

Livin the Dream?

Disillusioned UPSer
Package handler starts at $8.50 per hour. It is very hard, physical labor. Working at Dairy Queen will feel like a vacation compared to UPS.

You will not get over 20 hours per week in the beginning.

However -

UPS will give you opportunities for the future. Way, way in the future. You will become much stronger physically. You will grow a thick skin.

DO NOT join UPS because you want to be a feeder driver / OTR trucker. That is like buying a Boeing 747 because you like the peanuts.

evilleace