Restrictions on bidding?

spierce11

Hello,

I just won a bid for an evening air route that I'm very happy about. No more loading trucks! I have been driving Saturday air for almost three years, so I am at top rate. However, our center just posted three full-time driving positions. My question is if I'm restricted from bidding on these positions since I've only been doing the air route for two weeks. If I eventually drive full-time I want to start at my top air driver rate, so I don't have to work up through the normal three year progression. I don't want to bid on a full-time route if it will drop my rate since I just started. Basically, do I need to do this air route for a certain period of time like 30 days or longer before my top rate will transfer to a full-time position?

Any info would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

UpstateNYUPSer(Ret)

Suppose you make $20/hr as an air driver and you work 20 hours---you would gross $400. Now, suppose you make $16 as a FT driver (to start) and you work 46 hours--you would gross $784.

I am not 100% sure but I always thought that if you accepted a bid with a lower starting wage that you would keep your current wage until such time as you surpass that wage in the progression cycle.

I am also not that well versed on bids but I would have to think that you would have to work on the bid job that you accepted for a minimum period of time before you would be able to bid on and/or accept a different bid job.

If it were me and I were able to bid on the FT job that is what I would do.

barnyard

KTM rider
Unless he/she is article 22.5, he/she goes through full progression to FT.

I am not sure if the OP is eligible to sign a FT bid though. I thought you could only win a new bid every 12 months.

The best thing for the OP to do would be to look at their contract and regional supplement and call the local union office with specific questions.

JonFrum