Should I get normal pay for driving air or more for ground?

A.Spooner

I am currently an air driver, and have only been doing it for about 6 months mainly every Saturday. My current pay rate is $13.50 for air, and 11.50 for preload. I'll be qualifying in May for a permanent driver position which is unrelated. Occasionally we'll have issues with drivers not showing up or have unforeseen volume increases which in turn causes management to add small routes. This has happened to me twice recently where I would go deliver a normal route that I'm familiar with(all ground) but still get paid my air rate. Is this normal to receive the same rate whatever you're delivering whether it be a full 8 hour route, or abbreviated route as an air driver?

PT Car Washer

I am currently an air driver, and have only been doing it for about 6 months mainly every Saturday. My current pay rate is $13.50 for air, and 11.50 for preload. I'll be qualifying in May for a permanent driver position which is unrelated. Occasionally we'll have issues with drivers not showing up or have unforeseen volume increases which in turn causes management to add small routes. This has happened to me twice recently where I would go deliver a normal route that I'm familiar with(all ground) but still get paid my air rate. Is this normal to receive the same rate whatever you're delivering whether it be a full 8 hour route, or abbreviated route as an air driver?
Anytime an air driver performs ground work he should be paid at top driver rate. Read up on Art 40 in the master agreement. It is a penalty pay to prevent management from abusing air drivers. You shouldn't even have to file, they should just pay you automatically.

km3

But I will say this: If you're planning to drive full-time, it may be a good idea to keep quiet for now. If you give them a reason not to like you, it could affect your chances of qualifying. Talk to your steward, and choose which course of action to take wisely.

km3