Trucking at UPS

208_UPSer

Hello everyone,

I'm new here to the forums but I have been working for UPS as a loader for about 5 months. I was hired for peak season last fall. Anyways I really want to stay within the company and pursue a career as a trucker. I understand that if I want to be a feeder driver I either have to work my tail end off for years, gain seniority, get my CDL, bid for the job when it opens up, and pray and hope for the best. Or I will have to leave UPS, work at another tricking company for a year or two, and be an off the street hire.

I am also wondering if there is a way to start off as a UPS Freight driver, work there for some time, and then transfer to feeders? Would starting off at the freight division be a smart move?

Also, in my state, you can get a CDL at age 18, I am currently 19, but you have to be 21 to drive for UPS, so yeah I won't be able to drive trucks for UPS for awhile.

Any thoughts?

upschuck

For peak, off the street hires required at least 5 years experience, if I remember right. Only guaranteed way is to work your way up, and have UPS train you.

UpstateNYUPSer(Ret)

I believe you have to be 25 to be feeder qualified.

Freight is a separate division---transfers not allowed.

It is extremely rare to go from the inside directly to feeders.

You can train with a competitor and hope to get hired but that may be a long shot.

Hello everyone,

I'm new here to the forums but I have been working for UPS as a loader for about 5 months. I was hired for peak season last fall. Anyways I really want to stay within the company and pursue a career as a trucker. I understand that if I want to be a feeder driver I either have to work my tail end off for years, gain seniority, get my CDL, bid for the job when it opens up, and pray and hope for the best. Or I will have to leave UPS, work at another tricking company for a year or two, and be an off the street hire.