Is it really worth it?

Discussion in 'UPS Discussions' started by brownstreak86, May 10, 2016.

1. brownstreak86

brownstreak86 Member

I've been a driver (off the street) for 6 months now. Since January I've been working 15-25 hours a week. I'm on call 5 days a week. I have no vacation, sick, or personal days. My first vacation is scheduled in January of 2016 for a week. I'm financially in a tough spot, $200 a week is not enough. And yes the health insurance is awesome, but for me, its not really free. I am giving up 5 days a week and only working 1-3. When I do work, they pile the work on me. They give me 200+ stops and always say "well you want the work right"? I am 30 years old and last year made $50,000 working construction and other odd jobs.

Is it really worth it? I spoke to a previous employer this past week and they offered me a comfortable position, 4 weeks of paid leave to start, $45k a year and going up, and affordable health care. Its also a low stress job, and 4 day work weeks, four 10 hour days. Its hard for me to say this isn't a bad option, particularly with the way things are right now. What I want to know is if it is really worth it? If you were offered this position before you were in with UPS too deep, would you take it?

2. upschuck

upschuck Avatar bet gone wrong

Everybody goes through this lean period. You will be working more when vacations start kicking in. Maybe you could pick up some side construction jobs with someone that you could work when not working UPS.

Look at the long term, not the short term, if you like the work, you will soon be getting all you want, and more. 45k now - insurance or 100k a few years down the road, only you can make that decision.

• Agree Agree x 5
    • Like Like x 3
    • Disagree Disagree x 1
    • List