Cover Driver Side Jobs?

TSJ

I am a part time cover driver for 3 years now, only working a few days a week. I was just wondering if any of you guys had jobs on the side to bring in some extra money. I was thinking about getting a license to sell insurance on the side to have a little more financial freedom. What do you guys do? Any recommendations?

scratch

Least Best Moderator
Staff member
We have a couple of people that sell real estate on the side. They usually show houses on the weekend. I know one of them makes some pretty good money despite the current economy.

TSJ

We already have a guy in our neighorhood who walks dogs, he's mentally challenged, so I would hate to compete with him. Real estate was something I've been thinking about for about a year, but I'm not sure tottally sold on it yet. Any other thoughts?

reydluap

Back in the day. I worked at a Heating/AC business on the side cleaning up at their job sites. The boss didn't want to pay the professional installers to pick up boxes,used material and sweep floors. They didn't need me every day of the week but it was good for a couple of hundred bucks a week. And that was back in 1978. Another job I had was working for a dairy delivery company stocking milk/dairy products on the shelves at grocery stores. I also had a lawn mowing/sidewalk shoveling gig that I created on my own that turned out to be a money making occupation. That's just a few of the odd jobs I done.

browniehound

How about trying to start a lawn cutting business? It doen't take much cash to get started and you can do it whenever you want. I know some landscaping companies can get over $100 a lawn and add in a spring clean-up and we are talking $250. I've thought about trying to doing something like that on the side even with my full-time driving job at UPS.