FedEx Home Delivery... to Businesses...

CTFEDEXER

I am a recent college grad, planning on going on to graduate school... In the meantime I am working for a relative of mine who owns more than a couple Home Delivery routes in the CT region. When I started I loved it, I was delivering 115'ish stops, hitting my first stop at 8 AM and finishing my last one by 3 PM. Might get the random 7 or 8 businesses per day. Yesterday I was on road for 8 hours.... did 90 stops... Delivered to 30 businesses... Including a major multi-national corporation, which builds jet engines... no name on the package besides a well and crib number... Today was a 9 hour day for 98 stops, 40 of which were businesses. I get paid per stop and while Ground routinely hits these businesses, the terminal manager refuses to acknowledge the discrepancy... Simply states its within my service area... Ground gets paid more per stop, why the heck am I getting what are clearly stops that should be theirs? I actually hit this major company about 2 weeks ago with ONE box, while coincidentally the ground guy was delivering about 20, and the shipping label of mine said 7 of 22. I had that number 7... The ground guy was delivering the other 21. My businesses have skyrocketed and my time on road has been drastically increased.... WHAT IS HAPPENING HERE? I have a feeling that since HD gets paid less per stop they are looking to save some money by shaving some of the business stops off on HD. Am I crazy?

UpstateNYUPSer(Ret)

No, you are not crazy--it does sound like FedEx is trying to save a few bucks by diverting volume to HD. Have you mentioned this to your relative? It is his responsibility to deal with the company on behalf of his drivers.

bbsam

Staff member