Left on an emergency today supervisor got mad

Drbrown78

Hello I'm a cover driver and had to leave on an emergency call. I finished delivering my air and called the center and told them of my situation and they told me to drive back in. when I made it Into the hub my supervisor stopped me and was really upset and threatened to return me back to my twilight shift as a loader. I've been having personal issues and i let them know ahead of time. Today was different because I got the call when I was already working and had to leave. Can management punish me for going home or am I in the clear since they let me leave without me calling in?

ManInBrown

I wouldn't make a habit of it, but you handled it correctly. Not really much they can do. We've had drivers come back to the building mid-day and walk out because of a family emergency, without saying a word to anyone. They're still employed.

Drbrown78

I wouldn't make a habit of it, but you handled it correctly. Not really much they can do. We've had drivers come back to the building mid-day and walk out because of a family emergency, without saying a word to anyone. They're still employed.

I've only been cover driving a year so I still get spooked when management gets mad at me or gives me little backhanded comments. but I know I'm union so I know I have some sort of protection.

over9five

Staff member
Not recommended. If nothing else, it was unprofessional in the extreme.

Brownslave688

You want a toe? I can get you a toe.