New Air driver on the Block

Backlasher

Stronger, Faster, Browner
New to the site and forums.
:thumbup1: Yes!!! I was just hired this week as an Part-time Air Driver
(5a.m.-12p.m.).
I only had one interview and the head of HR walked in during my interview for something she overheard my background experience and hired me right on the spot telling my HR to Skipp the second interview and orientation. Sent me for my D.O.T. test same day, road test days later and I start my fire training at the air port this coming Wednesday the 6th. with the rest of my training starting Thursday.
I've got a few years experience driving expedited delivery(sucks)subcontracting and no benefits. Unpredictable pay/work hrs. never real home time cause you get called in for P/U and drop offs at any time. Lay off period's with no unemployment so home time is just stress time cause then your not bringing home money and bills start piling up. When you are bringing in the cash your just playing catch up on bills and the cost of being a contractor just eats that cash up. maintenance, insurance, gas/toll fee, etc...
Needless to say I'm ecstatic about the job. Yea, I've read some posts that say don't be so excited but I can't help it.
Predictable hours and predictable pay and benefits. Can you blame me.:w00t:

Last edited:

Backlasher

I see a lot of complaints about working to much overtime.
Though I'm hired as a part time Air Driver
(5am-12pm=7hr day,M-friend).
Am I going to be able to get some of that Over-Time??? Or is part-time just that? Maybe after I'm at my top rate I wont want it but I'm in need of some real hours. Hungry/Hard working man here.
Also is it a long process in moving in to fulltime?
:lol:

scratch

Least Best Moderator
Staff member