Scratching a Heavily Commercial Route :/

nystripe96

Scratching a Heavily Commercial Route

Ok so I'm a new driver with a training route in downtown Brooklyn. I know the deal with scratching & how important it is in order to make book. Problem is my training route is heavily commercial so I can't really be much of a runner or move as fast as I'd like. Lotta 30+ floor businesses to deliver to, very little parking, freight elevator operators to wait for & a whole lot of pick ups to do all on a three block radius. I know UPS is all about numbers so to say I'm a bit frazzled would be an understatement. Any tips to scratch this route would be sooooo appreciated!!!

Last edited:

UPSER110

Re: Scratching a Heavily Commercial Route

Did they train you on your route? Be safe follow the methods, speed (smoothness) will come and after a week or so you will have it down...

Brownslave688

You want a toe? I can get you a toe.
First not sure what's it's like there but scratch doesn't mean a lot here anymore. They just want an acceptable spoh number. With that said take the time to let all of your customers your training and need their help to make it. Tell them your not trying to be rude you'll just be in a big hurry for the next month or so.

upschuck

I can't remember the last time mgmt dq a driver trying to qualify in my center. They put a lot of money into training you, and don't want it wasted. That being said, do your best and I'm sure you'll be fine. Funny thing I've notice is the more of a rush you get in, the more frazzled you get, and you still get done about the same time. Good luck and stay safe.

Brownslave688

You want a toe? I can get you a toe.