What would you have done? More important, what will you do in the future?

bigmistake

I'm a Saturday Air Driver. Today I was delivering to a businness in an Industrial Park. I back up to the dock, following methods honk the horn every 3 to 5 seconds. Open rear doors and knock on the dock door. after a few minutes the receiver asked me if I thought laying on the horn like that was supposed to get him to the door any faster. He further told me that I would have to walk to a pedestrian door some 50 feet away and ring a door bell to make the delivery, starting now. Keep in mind we are face to face and I am ready to make this delivery now. I have the package ready and I'm trying to hand him the DIAD to sign.

His indication was he wasn't going to sign until I walked to their pedestrian door and ring a bell. What did I do, bit my tongue, deliver, MC Man, check mark.

curiousbrain

Do what the man says; you are not doing UPS a favor by showing up to work, you are doing your job. If, as a result of doing your job, the customer of the company you work for gives you a bunch of crap and tells you to come in the building another way, do it.

Maybe that particular persons wife cheated on him the night before, or maybe his dog got ran over by a car, or maybe he is just a giant buttwipe. Regardless, it's what you're paid for, right? If I am the taxman, I can't go back to Uncle Sam and tell him "Well, this guy *really* didn't want to pay taxes, and plus he was a giant butthole to boot."

edit: I hasten to add that this is just my opinion; it is just one out of many.

UPSGUY72