Any other feeder drivers working in the hub?

bubsdad

"Hang in there!"
I am a laid off feeder driver and took the option to work in the hub. There are currently 39 of us laid off from the feeder dept. Our hub makes us unload or load on 2 consecutive sorts if we choose to displace 2 part-timers. Just wondering if other hubs are doing the same. It has already cost 1 driver his job and created a couple of injuries here. Seems like the hub mgmt. is trying to make life as difficult as possible for guys who are just trying to make do with what's been dealt to them.

whiskey

Feeders is a different world. Now your in the real world. A world where UPS is an acronym for "Unrealistic Performance Standards". In this world, you start your work day with a blow to the head with a two by four. And that's everyday. Good luck brother.

Just wondering if other hubs are doing the same. It has already cost 1 driver his job and created a couple of injuries here.
I understand about the injuries, feeder drivers aren't used to the constant physical labor in the unload and too be thrown into make them use muscles they haven't used in a long time.
Please explain how the move inside cost one of the feeder drivers their job?

UpstateNYUPSer(Ret)

Trp, it's not just feeder drivers who aren't used to the physical part of the unload job. I worked one of our holiday's delivering air and volunteered to work in the trailer and I was exhausted by the time I was done, and that was a light day. As an off-the-street hire, I never worked on the inside but gained a greater appreciation of the work that these kids do for the peanuts that they are paid.

Covemastah

Hoopah drives the boat Chief !!
Feeders is a different world. Now your in the real world. A world where UPS is an acronym for "Unrealistic Performance Standards". In this world, you start your work day with a blow to the head with a two by four. And that's everyday. Good luck brother.