Bereavement? Did your center send you flowers/cards when your family member died?

MotoMoto

I have been working for UPS for 25 years. This is the first time that I had a close family relative die. All the bosses knew it, too. However, I did not receive ANYTHING from UPS, not cards, not flowers. Just thought that was odd. My sister works for Walmart and they sent her tons of food and 3 huge flower arrangements. Have you ever received anything?

brownedout

Yes, I'm going wayyyy back to 1993. When my Father died we received flowers and a fruit basket from my center, and even flowers from the, at that time, other center in my building. Sadly this kind gesture has seemed to disappear from todays ups. That's Logistics!

Catatonic

Nine Lives
I have been working for UPS for 25 years. This is the first time that I had a close family relative die. All the bosses knew it, too. However, I did not receive ANYTHING from UPS, not cards, not flowers. Just thought that was odd. My sister works for Walmart and they sent her tons of food and 3 huge flower arrangements. Have you ever received anything?

First off .... sorry for your loss.

UPS has always sent something but it is up to the local management.

The Teamsters never sent anything.

TheKid

In our center, flowers are sent by both UPS and the Teamsters and our BA attends the wake and funeral and presents the family with a beautiful personalized Bible.

728ups

All Trash No Trailer
In 1997 my grandmother passed and my family did receive flowers from the center,but that practice has since been discontinued.
I did get a sympathy card from my local,but i am not sure if this practice is still continued

scratch

Least Best Moderator
Staff member