Can a Mechanic become a Feeder Driver?

brown67

We had a package/feeder job open up in our center. I'm a driver and was told I won the bid. However, a mechanic with a little more seniority than me also bid and is trying to say it should be his bid. I didn't think mechanics could move to feeders. Anyone heard of a mechanic moving to feeders?

tritese

tritese
i have been told for years in our hub that mechanics CAN NOT bid on those jobs. they are hired as skilled and they can not bid out of their position. don't know if i agree either way but that is what i have heard for a long time. look in the contract, i am positive there is language on this.

brown67

Same local and I'm checking with BA. Just curious. Never heard of anyone other than a driver being able to move to feeders.

rod

Retired 22 years
to answer the original question-----only if they are ready to move up to size 44 or larger pants:peaceful:

One of our feeder drivers was previously a PT preloader, then went to the sort aisle and started shifting trailers as well. He bid from PT shifting to feeders. Of course there were no full timers bidding on the run.

This is from the Southern Region Supplement :
1. The Employer will post a feeder driver trainee list and
will state the number employees needed for this training.
No new list will be posted until the number on the original
list has been satisfied. Full-time employees who are interested
in qualifying as tractor-trailer drivers shall sign the above
list so notify the Employer. Such employees, except Automotive
and Maintenance mechanics, in seniority order,
will be permitted to attend, on their own time, the Employer’s
training program which will be established periodically when
the Employer determines there is a need to qualify additional
tractor-trailer drivers. A good driving record and the employee
not having an avoidable accident during the preceding year
are prerequisites for such training provided the employee has