Feeder Cover vs Full Time Package

Feelsdumb

Hey everyone, I was told today from my center manager (package) that he wouldn't let me and another guy cover vacations in feeders this summer because he will be short staffed during vacations in package delivery. We are both qualified feeder covers (made it through 30 working days) at this point and I have been covering feeders almost exclusively for a couple months now. Do I have any right to the higher paying job or does our package manager have the ability to hold me from it until they finally decide to train package delivery drivers to fill the gap we left by moving into feeders?

BlackCat

Hey everyone, I was told today from my center manager (package) that he wouldn't let me and another guy cover vacations in feeders this summer because he will be short staffed during vacations in package delivery. We are both qualified feeder covers (made it through 30 working days) at this point and I have been covering feeders almost exclusively for a couple months now. Do I have any right to the higher paying job or does our package manager have the ability to hold me from it until they finally decide to train package delivery drivers to fill the gap we left by moving into feeders?

I always thought that feeder operations trumped package.

If you are on the feeder staffing list, there is not a damn thing package can do to change it.

Jones

fILE A GRIEVE!
Staff member
I always thought that feeder operations trumped package.

If you are on the feeder staffing list, there is not a damn thing package can do to change it.
That's the way it is here. If feeders needs you that's where you go, package has no say in the matter.

trickpony1

feelsdumb-
I guess your center manager thinks the feeder dept (hub) that processes your loads can excrete a feeder driver to cover the inbound/outbound loads that you're supposed to be covering?

Pkg car staffing isn't your problem...the center manager needs to train more pkg drivers.