How responsible are we for DR packages that go missing???

brown_trousers

I vaguely remember this subject being briefly discussed during driver training some 5 years ago. I'm just wondering if we are financially responsible for driver releasing a package, and then discovering that the package is stolen/missing. Anyone have any experiences with this?

scratch

Least Best Moderator
Staff member
I have never paid for a single package and I have been delivering since 1984. I have heard of drivers doing stupid things like leaving packages in the rain with no DR bags on them. One guy I know got to make monthly payments on a mink coat because of that. Out of sight and out of weather means just that.

Last edited:

ChadBrunn

This subject came up at a PCM. Our union steward said UPS cannot make you pay for a package that was a bad DR (weather or stolen)

brown_trousers

I've never actually received concrete rules regarding releasing packages, except of course that we can't DR to apartments, multi-unit housing, or businesses. I'm always a bit weary of releasing a package to a porch on a busy street, even if I can leave it out of site, I just feel a bit uneasy about it... especially with packages that look expensive like laptops or cell phones.

menotyou

bella amicizia
Read your contract.

Read the driver release certification.

Your steward is wrong.
Talk about bad advice. Read your contract, but sign something the contract clearly dictates that you don't sign? DONT SIGN ANYTHING!! Don't listen to up-Yours. He is management in disguise.

UpstateNYUPSer(Ret)

Talk about bad advice. Read your contract, but sign something the contract clearly dictates that you don't sign? DONT SIGN ANYTHING!! Don't listen to up-Yours. He is management in disguise.

Did I say sign the DR certification? I said read it, which is perhaps what you should have done before replying. BTW, it doesn't matter whether you sign it or not, you are still bound by the document.

menotyou

bella amicizia