Is My Job Safe?

herbigharo32

Hello All,

I'm rather new at UPS with a hire date of Sept 25th, 2008. I am part time permanent. I barely made senority and have about 90 days with the company. In the news, the DFW Sort Facility will be closing night sort thus eliminating 76 positions. The question I want to put out is, what are the chances that I may be fired due to reduction in force? I know for sure that none of the temps will be kept on the payroll.

gandydancer

"Laid off" is different than "fired". UPS has massive part time turnover, and since you've made seniority they have to call you back before hiring anyone new. Even if they're downsizing it may not take that long. Make sure that you've nailed down the callback procedure, however. They can terminate you pretty quickly if you don't report when called -- find exactly what your contracts say!

Channahon

With temps being let go, there will be more positions available for displaced employees. Will there be enough to accomodate you with your seniority date, that will be determined once the temp positions are reassigned.

In today's economic environment, unfortunately, no jobs are safe at most companies, if you read of all the massive layoffs. And for the first time I can recall UPS has announced layoffs will occur in 2009.

Good Luck

FAVREFAN

I'm hearing any part-timer with 3 years or less could be let go in January temporarily/long term. So I wouldn't count on working for UPS for a while guy. Hopefully things get better rather than later so you can get back, but I'm just saying, if you can get some work elsewhere for a while....don't pass it up.

sonyatx

I am in the same position at DFW airport hub. Wondering where will all the part timers go. I just wish they would tell us, but I guess they want to keep the moral up during peak. We have a little over six weeks till our shift is closed.

ih8tbrn

Banned