Possible termination "on topic"

Thomasthetrain

I'm a FedEx ground driver and I just got arrested for a DUI in my personal vehicle on the weekend. My boss doesn't know yet and my lawyer says I can get an occupational DL. My questions are will I automatically be terminated when they find out? Should I tell my boss (who likes me quite a bit) or wait until they find out and save my money to help pay this financial/career disaster i just created

zubenelgenubi

I'm a star
Are you currently driving with a suspended license? Are you missing work? The more details you provide the better the advice you might get.

bbsam

Staff member
I'm a FedEx ground driver and I just got arrested for a DUI in my personal vehicle on the weekend. My boss doesn't know yet and my lawyer says I can get an occupational DL. My questions are will I automatically be terminated when they find out? Should I tell my boss (who likes me quite a bit) or wait until they find out and save my money to help pay this financial/career disaster i just created
Fedex will find out and you will be permanently DQ'd.

Fedex just entered a program recently where any traffic citation will automatically be forwarded on to Pittsburgh regardless of any court disposition down the line.

dezguy

I'm not advocating anything but I worked with a guy who got a DUI and never told a single soul at FedEx until the day he retired.

Sometimes people slip through the cracks. You could hope for that or you could be honest and hope they keep you around. You could also fight the charge, allowing you to keep your license and job till the matter is decided in court.

Star B

White Lightening
Fedex just entered a program recently where any traffic citation will automatically be forwarded on to Pittsburgh regardless of any court disposition down the line.
If that isn't Employer-type actions, I don't know what is...

bacha29

bbsam is right. You're gone. But it's not that good of a job. So what!