Qualifying

Newbee

I have searched this site and and have found similar situations as mine but none that answer the questions I have I am so confused with this company it's insane. I started working for ups for one reason and that is to have a career as a driver I got hired as a pt package handler in April of 2015 when I got hired I mentioned that I would like to drive at some point. They told me that could be a good possibility in the near future. A month later I started the initial testing, the Diad test, road test,and ride along, 2 months went by then they scheduled me to go to driving school they canceled that then scheduled me again a month later canceled that and finally about another month later I finally went to school. I passed and didn't hear from them till October I drove a few days here and there. they started filling out my driving booklet that logs my performance then stopped all of a sudden. I didn't drive again till dec 1st and every day including Saturday's until dec 24th. I haven't driven since then ,I just want to know if this is common or if theirs anything i can do? Im not whining either I just care about my career and have a kid on the way I left a good job for this in hopes that It would be a good move. I want to retire at UPS I love the job but $200 a week is not enough. (Working local sort) I would like to get another job but I have to call in every morning and most employers aren't to keen on the ups thing. I just want to know if I'm doing something wrong or if this is normal

Last edited:

Turdferguson

Just a turd
Yes it is normal, your driving will be sporadic until summer vacations start then drop off then pick up during peak season again.
Hope that answers your questions and helped

Newbee